The entire Sainik Welfare Organisation is working under the Ministry of Defence. The Defence Minister is the Chairman of KendriyaSainik Board and the Chief Minister of the State and service chiefs are amongst its members. The policy decisions are taken in the annual meeting of the Kendriya Sainik Board.
Each State has a Rajya Sainik Board (RSB) and a Directorate of Sainik Welfare. In J&K, Hon’ble Lt Governor is the President of J&K Rajya Sainik Board. The Director Sainik Welfare is the head of the Sainik Welfare Department and is also Secretary Rajya Sainik board. The post of Director Sainik Welfare Department J&K Government is tenable by a retired Brigadier/Colonel and has been designated as Major Head of the Department.
In J&K, the Sainik Welfare Department, in addition to the Directorate, has under its jurisdiction 13 Zila Sainik Welfare Offices (ZSWOs) at Jammu, R S Pura, Akhnoor, Samba, Kathua, Udhamnpur, Reasi, Doda, Poonch, Rajouri, Srinagar, Baramulla and Kupwara. A retired officer of the rank of Col/Lt Col is re-employed as the Zila Sainik welfare officer and is also Secretary Zila Sainik Board and has been designated as Class I Officer
The Deputy Commissioner of the district is the president of the ZilaSainik Board. There are a few ex-officio members from amongst the officers at district headquarters and retired defence personnel are nominated by the Deputy Commissioner as non-official members.
The Sainik Welfare Department was declared as permanent Department of the State Government vide Government Order No. 15-JKM/110/64 dated 24-06-1964. For administrative control, it comes under the Home Department of the J&K Government.
In October 1975, the organization was re-designated as the Sainik Board organization with the Kendriya Sainik Board (KSB) at the center, the RajyaSainik Board at state level. Subsequently in September 1984, the then Sainik Board Organization was re-designated as the Sainik Welfare Department.